DISCLAIMER: This SACRED HEALING 7 HERB CENTER web site is for informational purposes only, and is not intended to diagnosis, treat or cure any physical, mental or medical problems, nor as a substitute for medical supervision by a licensed health- care professional; but to offer a variety of alternative healing modalities, information, and tools, to help the visitor in their quest to enhance their natural healing abilities for their mental, physical, emotional and spiritual growth and well-being.

Herbs are Nature's Medicine?

                                                                                   Anahata chakra (heart chakra) is situated in the spine behind the sternum

                                                                                   at the level of the heart. It is related to the Air element and like the air, it has

                                                                                   the nature of freedom and the need for freedom. Its natural radiance is

                                                                                   love, joy and compassion. Being in the middle of the chakra system it is

                                                                                   called the mediator and harmonizer between the higher and lower elements

                                                                                   of being; between the body and mind

Anahata chakra is a natural mediator that seeks balance and harmony both inwardly and outwardly, balance within our body and mind and balance between ourselves and others. So finding balance in our lives is always presented to the energetic nature of this chakra, especially emotional needs and the balance between giving and receiving. However once the heart chakra has been fully opened through the force of kundalini awakening these concerns are history.

Anahata chakra controls the emotional nature of our mind and our connection to others through love and affection. The heart chakra personality has the natural ability to truly understand what is going on within another persons heart and has the willingness to put their time and energy into the service of anothers need. They bring peace and harmony wherever they go, because that is what they emanate.

The heart chakra is a very popular focal point in many yoga classes. We all want to feel love, to share love with others and to enjoy all the happiness, experiences and magic moments that come with it. Yoga knows that we are beings of energy and that our body, heart and mind are are all aspects of the same vital life force and bound by it. So when our heart and mind engage with understanding when opening up the body in asana practice, then the heart and mind are also opened up and liberated accordingly.

As the Kundalini awakens in the heart chakra and begins to fully open, awareness breaks free from the attitudes and empirical dimensions of the first three chakra elements, earth, water and fire and opens out into the more refined blissful experiences provided by Air. We now have a much higher intuitive capacity that understands the impermanence of all things and thus we become free from attachment to the external world. Quite naturally we are now free in nature and very loving, natural leaders and teachers of universal truth.

The sense associated to the heart chakra is touch and the sense organ is the skin. The organ of action provided by anahata is the hands which communicate its loving healing power through massage and touch. It also influences the function of the arms, shoulders and ribcage. Heart chakra types make great healers, due to the high vibrational field of loving energy and deep inner peace they omit, their natural tolerance of human weakness and their highly developed mind of concentration and spiritual insight.

Anahata governs the function of the thymus gland just above the heart, which is vital for growth and maintaining a healthy immune system. It also governs the function of the heart organ and the lungs and is therefore directly responsible for circulation, respiration, blood pressure and immunity to illness. The heart chakra governs all communication systems in the body and thereby linked to the function of the central nervous system, which generates our sense of touch and feeling through the skin and literally in the ability to open ourselves up and be touched by the world emotionally..

When there is a problem with the heart chakra for whatever reason, it will affect its primary functions and psychologically this can bring about the condition of feeling unloved, disconnected and emotionally cut off from the people around us. On an unspoken level we can avoid emotional closeness with others and become critical as a defence mechanism to protect painful vulnerabilities. When working with the wounded child, the wounded aspect of our emotional nature, either to heal a broken heart, learning to forgive or love again, anahata will primarily work on and heal the issues preventing the natural radiance of our love.

The Sanskrit term Anahata means ‘unstruck’, which holds much meaning and opens out to different levels of interpretation. The main one from Bihar school, emphasises that all sound in the universe is produced by two opposing forces or objects striking together to produce vibrational sound waves that are carried through the medium of Air, the element related to anahata. But the sound produced from the heart chakra is the primordial ever present sound of the universe (Ohm, audible in deep meditation), which is free from two opposing forces and causation. In the same way that love, the purest emotion related to and emanating from the heart is also free from causation, it just is, all pervading as air, unconditional and essential. It communicates directly to the heart of another and needs no proof and no cause.

Keyword Associations

Air, Love, Compassion, Forgiveness, Tolerance, Freedom, Healer, Mediator, Balance, Circulation, Respiration, Blood Pressure, Heart, Pericardium, Thymus Gland, Lungs, Touch, Skin, Shoulders, Arms, HandsSOURCE: cosmothaiyoga.com

4th Heart Chakra

Did you know that . . . .